To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

I agree with the speaker’s broad assertion that ethical and moral standards are crucial elements of any leaders. However, the speaker unnecessarily turned this broad assertion into a untenable cause-and-effect relationship stating that only by attaining the highest ethical and moral standards can be an effective leader. In my view, the effectiveness of a leader is contingent and it is impractical to maintain the highest level even in situations where moral and ethics are needed.

There is no doubt that maintaining a high ethical and moral level can keep leaders away from the abuse of power and build prestige among his followers. Especially for leaders who serves for the public need, a high ethical and moral standard is required to build up his public image and make it easier and more efficient to carry out the leader’s plan. Mark Zuckerburg, an American Internet entrepreneur who is the co-founder of a social networking website Facebook, which is widely used among all aged people all over the world. In the meantime that he is so succeed in managing and leading the company, he announced to donate majority of his wealth in a form of Facebook shares to scores of high level education institutions and became top one philanthropist in 2013. This move undoubtedly affect people who admires him and made him an effective leader.

However, in some cases, leader’s efficiency and ethics can be treated as a dilemma situation. With the awareness of information asymmetry, it is commonly known that a full coverage of information can be used as a tool of improving efficiency in the process of decision making, and this may raise a problem of information privacy. The Watergate scandal can be cited as an example. In a year of presidential election, Richard Milhous Nixon and his fellows eavesdropped internal information regarding to the election strategy made by the Democracy. Even though such a scandal was exposed to the public and Nixon resigned from the presidency, he can not be denied to be an effectively leader due to his several accomplishments made to the American history. His ability to end the Vietnam War that lasts the longest in American history should not be ignored.

In addition, it is too idealistic to require leaders to attain the highest level of moral and ethical standards in order to be effective since there are other factors to consider in terms of a leader’s efficiency. Efficiency is the quality of doing something well and effectively, without wasting time, money, or energy. Accordingly, a leader’s self competence, charisma, ability of time management, approval rate and implementation rate. A high moral and ethics standards is a tool applied to increase leaders’ approval rate, thus, does not necessary need and practical to be the highest.

In conclusion, although it is important for a leader to obtain as a high level of ethics and moral as possible, there are other factors to examine a leader’s efficiency. Consequently, it is presumptuous to link leaders’ efficiency with the highest moral and ethics standards.