The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Certainly, discoveries, inventions and innovations that revolutionized the world and gave new heights to human knowledge fall in the category of best ideas. The author contends that these ideas were a product of man’s ‘passionate interest’ and ‘commonplace things’. Given that commonplace things, as such, include commonplace objects in nature and surroundings, commonplace necessities, commonplace observations, etc. the statement holds true to a good extent. However, while passionate interest and commonplace things are the source of ideas, the checklist has more elements for those ideas to evolve and survive.

The most compelling argument to substantiate the author’s statement deals with myriad enthralling inventions having their genesis in commonplace natural objects and commonplace necessities. From prehistoric times, men have taken inspiration from nature to devise ingenious solutions to fulfil his basic needs. The invention of sharp hunting tools in stone-age was motivated from claws of predatory animals. Fast forward to the twentieth century, the idea of hypodermic needles was rooted in the snake fangs. Apart from natural objects, as also evident in the previous examples, commonplace necessities have also been a driving force for many stalwart ideas corroborating the adage that ‘necessity is the mother of invention’. Edison was simply afraid of darkness for in childhood his elder brother used to lock him in the closet. This commonplace need to spell away darkness drove him to find a solution ‘the light bulb’. Even in this net age, many forest tribes mimic natural sounds especially predatory calls for securing sustenance. Similarly, there are numerous examples of biologists, artists, inventors and even common men deciphering great ideas out of commonplace objects due to commonplace needs.

Beside the availability of commonplace things, as the author claims, passionate interest is also a requisite to extract ideas from them. The laws of nature have been governing various commonplace natural processes since the beginning of life or universe. Yet they could only be discovered when an observant mind found obsession with their working principle. For example, apple trees and the phenomena of objects falling towards the earth are universal as well as primordial. It is also safe to claim that human was endowed with great minds prior to Newton also. Therefore, the difference that led to the discovery of gravity was his passionate interest in the commonplace observation about a mundane apple.

However, beyond passionate interest and commonplace things, there are additional requisites for great ideas to emerge and survive. Considering the same example of Newton’s discovery of gravity, it still needed an analytical and creative mind of Newton to evolve that idea into ‘Laws of Gravitational force’ encompassing more than an apple tree and extending up to the far end of the Universe. Similarly the courage to experiment and face failure is other rudimentary requirement to invent great ideas. Had Wright brothers not dared to risk their lives and reputation by experimenting with their proto-type; commonplace birds would have never inspired one of the greatest modern inventions. Some people argue that there several examples of great discoveries appearing to be a pure product of human creativity and rigorous scientific experiments. For instance, the discovery of Higgs-Boson particle is attributed to the sophisticated large hadron collider at CERN and not to a commonplace thing. Yet they fail to recognize the commonplace motive behind such discoveries which is to advance human knowledge and improve the quality of the life.

In conclusion, given the role played by commonplace natural objects and phenomena, needs and queries, the statement is true in its assertion that ‘passionate interest’ and ‘commonplace things’ have been the fundamental subject matter behind many great ideas. However, it is also true that mental acuity, perspicacity and analytical ability of the observer are also important to extrapolate those ideas into meaningful theories, inventions and discoveries.