The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement above and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how those considerations shape your position.

A widely discussed topic in the arts is the idea of using what is found. Taking what is thought to be ‘commonplace’ and creating a piece of art has been controversial since before poets started reading the phonebook at poetry readings. This discussion is not about what merits as true art, but about the inspiration that arises from common place objects.

There is a saying regarding philosophy that goes something like, ‘it’s not about comtemplating the whole, overall grand idea, but looking at each small thing in detail.’ This idea that simplicity is the best approach to complex anlaytical thinking makes sense. For example, when trying to understand some of the vast mathmatical intricacies of the universe, mathmaticians needed only to look at nature to discover the Fibonachi sequence. Certainly, the calculation involved in discovering such a pattern was complicated and has led to many more advanced equations, but it took looking at common place objects first to come to this revolutionary mathmatical discovery. In the same vain, those engineering some of the first aircraft studied the flight of birds and the structure of their wings. The invention of the wheel might have arisen from observing a rounded rock rolling down a hill.

Some may argue, that yes, though a passion form what is common place was once useful in the prehistoric age and even in to more recent centuries, we have now out grown the inspiration that we can take from commonplace objects and ideas- mathmatics, technology, and even art has gone too far. These days our passions need to lie in new discoveries, distant planets, the most advanced nano technology, and CGI renderings. Still, without getting too metaphysical, one might ultimately need to ask what is commonplace? Aren’t all things invented once common place objects that were augmented to be less so. And aren’t objects that were once spectacular now commone place? Computers, used to be unimaginable- science fiction, and now they can be slipped into a person’s pocket.

If what is found in the world everyday, everywhere isn’t used to create art or technology, than where else would ideas come from. What has been written, drawn, calculated, or enginered that hasn’t originated from nature?