The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

While encouraging feedback is a proper attitude of a leader, it does not necessarily warrant a leader to be the best.

A leader should be able to make decisions in critical conditions. Take a situation where the country has been attacked by a hostile force. In this situation the leader must be able to make a decision and make is fast. Time is a major factor in such a confrontation and reacting quickly can be vital for the future of the country. As such, asking the constituents about their opinion on how the country should respond is not a viable option. Therefore, a leader is the best if he/she can foresee the consequences of his decisions and be able to make the optimal decision that bears the least risk and maximum gain for his constituents.

Moreover, while asking for feedback is a major part of having a robust leadership, it is not enough. The people usually have a variety of opinions about issues. Simply asking for feedback would not resolve any confusion, yet is adds to it. A major role of a great leader is to be able to galvanize a culture of dialogue among his/her people. It is an art for a leader to be able to listen to different ideas and through set of suggestions and compromises, come of with a decision that keeps everyone happy.

And finally, it should be noted that encouraging feedback, while not enough, is a must in having a reliable leadership. No leader can understand the issues that his/her constituents face without getting feedback from them. A reliable channel of communication between a leader and the people whom he/she leads is a prerequisite for a strong leadership. But as the past two paragraphs have noted, it is not enough for making a leader the best. Knowing how to handle the feedbacks, how to respond to them, and when to ask for a feedback are all among the crucial traits that make a leader the best.