The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement that the best test of an argument is the argument ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint seems reasonable at first glance. However I think that this argument is a one-sided argument since a fully well-established argument might seem to be unpopular and get criticize.

The ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint is an important criteria for an argument. If an argument could not convince those opponents, it is hard to say that the conclusion or the logics of the argument is well-established. An argument with apparent logic flaws or unrealistic assumptions has no way to convince its opponents.

However, this criteria itself may be somewhat problematic. Some arguments, though could not fully persuade its opponents, could still be considered as a strong and coherent one.  It is highly possible that the opponents were simply not discernible  or informed enough to judge the argument fairly. Or rather the opponents might be too obstinate to be moved. Since, there are always many competition and debate among major entrenched theories in many fields. For example, professors of international relations have been arguing about the nature and preferences of the state for centuries long. The realists believe that the state is a self-help one and its most important priority is to survive under an anarchy. On the contrary, the constructivists maintain that the preferences of the state are constructed by their identity. And their identities are constructed through the interaction among different states. Therefore, the state is not necessarily a self-help one and the international system may not be an anarchy.

Moreover, this criteria is not necessarily a solely best one. There are many other potential sound ways to test it. Even if the above one is really good, it cannot guarantee it to be the solely best one. For example, one can test the argument by fully examine its logics and its assumptions. Even though its assumptions make sense, the logics might have gone awry. Also, one can test it by apply it into practice. If an argument conform to the reality and can explain some difficult phenomena, it may be reasonable to say that at least to some extent the argument is a good one.

In sum, I maintain that the criteria mentioned above may be problematic and there are many other alternatives. The statement is a one-sided one.