The best way for a society to prepare its young people for

leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by

instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A person is said to possess leadership skills if the chief qualities exhibited by the person are – An aim for the future, a meticulous plan to achieve specific goals, a charisma to attract the hoi-polloi, and a confident and steadfast attitude towards any issue. If we look at all these traits, a common strain that emerges is the cooperative attitude of a leader. Making plans regarding future goals, making people understand the efforts required to accomplish a goal, all of this requires a leader to cooperate with people so as to produce maximum throughput. But, can cooperation alone bring the best out of a person? No, it can’t, but, a sense of competition he can help to unleash the potential of a person, because, competition allows you to juxtapose your performance against someone else, enabling you to assess your own flaws, and correct them effectively.

The leaders of various Smartphone manufacturing industries, such as Samsung, Motorola, Apple etc., are highly cooperative in nature. It is not easy to establish a company in several parts of the world, because every country has its own rules and regulations to which all companies have to strictly adhere to. But, from the tremendous growth (sales) of Samsung, and Apple in various countries, it is evident that their leaders have been cooperative with the respective governments of the countries, and have successfully negotiated terms under which they can operate in these countries.

But, these companies have also faced strong competition from all their competitors in the Smartphone market. Every company tried to outwit the other by releasing products that are highly innovative and customer-friendly. All companies keep tabs on their competitors to ascertain their next big move. This fierce competition has made the leaders of such companies to push their existing limits, and aim for higher levels of creativity, innovation and productivity. A competitive environment also ensures that only the best can survive in the market. Nokia serves as an example of a company which was once at the forefront of the Mobile phone industry, but now has crashed out of the market because it failed to improvise on its products, thus relinquishing the market to other tech giants such as Apple and Samsung.

Thus, instilling a sense of cooperation alone cannot prepare today’s youth for leadership, but combining it with a competitive attitude will definitely make the youth to effectively connect and negotiate with people, and also to bring out the exceptional capabilities that they possess.