"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Co-operation, the sense of belonging or the large-hearten feeling of helping others is the basis of any organization. Whether it be industry government, industry or any other organization. Competition in turn is the feeling of how can an individual grow better than the other which involves little jealousy and sarcasm.

Though healthy competition is necessary in Industrial or government sectors for efficient functioning but only in certain circumstances, where other individuals are competent enough or probably more skilled than you. But, when the individuals are great learners or even if you are, the best can be achieved with the co-operation rather than competition. I had heard one popular story in my school days which was the story of a poor and sick farmer having four sons. The sons used to neglect the farm and refuse to co-operate with each other to handle the farm. One day the poor farmer applied the strategy and gave all the sons a separate stick to break.

They couldn't break the stick separately as it was very difficult to break, but together the broke all the four sticks and learned a lesson of co-operation.Analogous is the functioning of any organization, industry or government. Co-operation achieves the best results and deliverables than competition.

As it is well said that "United we stand, Divided we fall", For efficient functioning in any organization or to acquire a leadership position in government, you must first co-operate with your workers or colleagues so that they can feel comfortable working with you.

Thus the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and healthy competition which does not involves jealousy and sarcasm.