"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

These days the life has become like a rat race.Everyone is running to be bettter than others . If you don't push youself then you might fail at life. This is emotionally nad mentally taxing.Here, writer says that preparing the youth for the future for leadership can be done by inculcating the sense of cooperation than competetion.I agree with the statement to a large extent.

As is it commonly said, Team work makes the dream work and I concur which this quote. If this kind of mentatily could be inculcated in the youth then it can definitely create leader of the future.Leadership is is not to order the people working in the team with the sense og superiority but to understand the strengths and weakness of the team and guide them to be better.

The sense of competetion comes along with some personal grudges and ego. So if you cannot be better at something then rather than working on yourself, pull your competitor down. And this sort of thought process could do more harm than benefit the society. There is a story about crabs which explains the point made above . An experiment was carried out by putting a certain number of crabs in a container, and it was observed that whenever a crab was tring to get out og the container , other crabs would pull it down . As a result, all the crabs were stuck in the jar .If they would have cooperated rather than pullingeach other down they would have been free.

In some instances , a healthy competetion cauld provide a better result. if we set out goals high and try to emuate someone who is better than us then it would help us to grow and lead to self growth.

The sense of coorperation would absolutely prepare the young generation for leadership and also nuture their mind to sort of help and also respect the people around .