The best way to for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition.

The author's states that the best way to for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition. The author also points out some fields like government and industry where leadership skills are required. It maybe true that good leadership skills is one of the requirement for a certain occupation but not necessarily be the only skill required. So i agree with the statement partially since one should learn on how to cooperate as well as to look on for the competition and how to tackle it.

It is correct that one of the important leadership qualities is cooperation. Cooperation is required for proper team work as team work will help in carrying out any task or functioning of the organisation to be smooth. To become a good leader one must also have other skills such as communication, personality etc. So its just not correct to just focus on inculcating the values of cooperation, but other values should also be taught.

The author gives an example of government where leadership skills are required. For any government to perform or function efficiently, there should be a excellent leader to head the government in the right direction. Here the leader does not face competition except at the of elections. So to lead a government it is necessary to cooperate with everyone and maintain harmony and it requires to face less competition.

But on the other hand the other examples that the author has given mentions industry and other fields. These sectors have a lot competition in the market and it is difficult for one to sustain in such competitive situations. So as leader of any industry one should know how to maintain the trust of the employees and ask for their cooperation in the difficult phase and in addition have the ability to face the competition audaciously.

So the best way to prepare the young people for leadership depends on what kind group or field the person has to lead. Most of the occupations require both the