"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

" The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance"-Socrates. We human-beings are thriving in this world primarily because of our intelligence. The prompt asserts that the best avenue for the preparation of the young demographic for all aspects of life is to inject a sense of cooperation, not competition. I mostly agree with this contention for two reasons, although I do concede, in some situations, competition is needed.

Firstly, Education is the backbone of every nation. The young people who are reading in schools,colleges, and even in university should be cooperative. Only by seeking help from others and helping others who need them, the students have the ability to grow not only in academia but also as a better human-being. For example, there are tons of group projects handed down to the students in schools and universities in which cooperation is must. If the students in a certain group project eschew from cooperation and complete it according to their own path. Then, there will not be any coherence in their project, most possibly, they will get a bad grade, but most importantly the cooperation which is the ultimate goal of group project failed absolutely. Another example, reasearch groups in universities have the objective of writing up academic papers for journals. Almost all the papers have several authors. Thus, avoiding cooperation to write a paper is almost impossible. Whether one like it or not, cooperation is a must in writing up academic papers for journals.

Secondly, In other sectors such as government or industry, cooperation has no other substitutes. The young demographic will oneday be the leaders in eclectic departments of a government. They will have to make decisions which may impact the whole nation. For example, one nation may need fossil fuel as it lacks the natural resources. But if the nation does not want to cooperate with others, then it is next to impossible to import fossil fuel from other countries/nations. Furthermore, Stringent leaders most of the time make bad decisions as they rely solely on their nation and their egotist behavior. They do not think of the benefit of the people of their nation leading to non-cooperative behavior towards other nations which results in a trading cut off between the nations or violent disputes. Therefore, it is imperative to have a sense of cooperation among the young demogrpahic.

However, there are some situations or scenarios where cooperation leads to less growth and competition is needed. For example, in schools or universities, it is not good to rely solely on cooperation all the time. If a particular problem is given to the students, it is a must to try to solve the problem on their own to have the necessary growth in their particular field and their intelligence. Another example, it is not always the best decision for a nation to be cooperative with other nations which are making controversial decisions such as environmental issues t.

In conclusion, it is imperative to have cooperation among the young people, even if it has some negative aspects. Mostly there are good outcomes.