The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Does imposing strict limit on the amount of trash to be collected from household help to solve prevalent waste-generated environmental problems? While there might be some critics who accepts this claim as it stands, but I do not accede to this claim. Therefore, my cut-and-dried position is in order to solve several environmental problems resulted due to consumer-generated waste, we should use innovative ideas and technologies. I have following reasons to shore up my position.

Firstly, and probably most importantly, we should not forget the fact that we live in the age of technological wizardry; technology has given us several options to solve such consumer-generated waste problem. Today, we can generate electricity from the methane produced out of the waste. Take Kathmandu Metropolitan City (KMC), for example. It produces 450 tonnes of waste daily - out of which 63 percent is organic waste and the remaining is non-organic and non-biodegradable waste. It was a problem for KMC to manage such huge amount of waste; however, recently KMC introduced waste-to-energy equipment under the auspices of European Union. These equipment consumes 3 tonnes of waste daily, produces 14 kilowatt of electricity, 90 kg of gas and 300 kg of bio-organic fertilizer daily. For this reason, KMC is willing to proliferate this technology in other municipalities to boot. This will be like killing two birds with a single arrow: we will be able to get clean energy reducing environmental problem at the same time.

Furthermore, non-biodegradable waste is another challenge; they do not degrade for very long period of time. They includes plastic products, e-wastes and many more. Nevertheless, it does not mean there is no way to manage them - there are such methods, in fact. Take plastic, for instance. We can reuse and recycle plastic products to keep our environment healthy. In KMC, private business-firms have employed hundreds of people to collect such plastic wastes which are recycled again and again. Similarly, if we changed our attitude and started reducing the plastic uses when it is not really necessary, certainly, we will be able to keep our environment safe and healthy.

Finally, some critics might assert the same idea as mentioned by the author. Nonetheless, I believe that it is the worst idea and contributes to increase pollution on the other hand. The same policy was introduced in Kathmandu, once. However, the result was opposite to what was anticipated: pollution increased in the city. But HOW? As municipality imposed restriction, people started to throw garbage in some public parks - and roads - during the night time which was really difficult to control for the concerned authority. These activities increased pollution of the city, reduced its aesthetic beauty and increased the chance of disease outbreak too. Finally, municipality withdrew its decision to limit the amount to be collected from each household, rather it started to collect all the trashes, but increased the fee.

To recapitulate, to solve problems related to consumer-generated wastes, modern technologies should be effectively employed - like done by KMC. Additionally, regarding non-biodegradable wastes, to some esteem, we need to change our demeanor as well. This will keep our environment healthy and solve the garbage problems.