The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

There has been a rise in environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste. Some believe the best way to combat the increase in problems is by imposing strict limits on the amount of trash accepted from each household. Although this suggestion has some merits, it is merely a step in the many that towns and cities can take. Therefore, I mostly disagree with the claim that imposing strict limits on trash is the best way to solve environmental problems.

Firstly, limiting the amount of trash accepted by the town is not guaranteeing resolution of environmental problems. What will the residents do if they produce more trash than the city’s limits? If the town is not providing the means for residents to safely dispose of the trash, there can be an increase in pollution. Waters will become murkier and the roads will be littered. This would be quite counterproductive of the initiative stated. Some residents may even resort to throwing their trash in their neighbor’s bin, just so they don’t get in trouble. Conflicts will needlessly ensue because of such a limit.

Additionally, there are various household sizes, so limiting the amount of trash accepted would need to be scaled. Otherwise, it would not make sense for a household size of four to have the same trash limit as a household of two. Furthermore, the age of the members of the household need to be considered. Those who wear diapers, like younger children and older adults, will produce more waste than others. Hence, imposing strict limits on the amount accepted is not completely viable if such considerations are not taken into account. Along the same thread, would restaurants and stores be considered as households? Waste is produced in such areas as well and it would be unfair for residents to be limited in their use if such companies are able to.

Although curtailing the amount of waste accepted from households is not the best idea, it certainly is moving in the right direction to resolve environmental problems. In doing so, residents will be more conscious about the amount of plastic and food they consume, reducing the amount of waste. However, in cases mentioned above, some means cannot be compromised. Instead, towns should educate its residents on reusing and recycling to promote less waste. Moreover, they can provide separate bins for recycling and trash, alone with suggestions on how residents can use their leftover food to create a compost pile. These suggestions will relieve some of the stress residents impose on the environment, while also maintaining the residents’ habits. Even though limiting the amount of waste produced by households is helpful for the environment, there are better ways to do so.

All in all, limiting the amount of trash accepted from each household may not be feasible and may worsen environmental problems. Nonetheless, such an initiative is a good start in curbing environmental problems.