The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The recommendation that “the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones” is a compelling one. But one that I partially support because of the implications it can have on the learners. While praising positive actions to reinforce such behavior in the future is necessary, it is not wise to ignore the negative actions. There is no doubt that positive actions must be exemplified if the situation warrants, but ignoring the negative actions poses risks of its own.

Ignoring negative behavior might be perceived as a “green signal” to students that their behavior is acceptable and must be repeated without hesitation. This can lead to devastating results if not curtailed properly. For example, a foolhardy student showing off his ability to mix unknown hazardous chemicals in a science lab poses a danger to himself and his peers. Who is at fault here, the menacing student or the teacher who did not interject? Admonishing this student in front of his peers may seem harsh, but it would be eclipsed by the positive effect it produces in ensuring the safety of others. Assessment of the extremes of such nature is necessary for an educator. It is critical for an educator to draw fine distinctions between tolerable negative actions, such as a student heckling during a lecture, and the example stated before. Along with pointing out incorrect behavior, one must also provide the student with an appropriate alternative to prevent any further occurrence of such demeanor.

In conclusion, while positive reinforcement is undoubtedly unparalleled in providing a quality education and building a student’s character, but ignoring negative behavior is an extreme that one must abstain from.