The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Everyone like to hear praise about themselves as it is very flattering and makes us feel good. While teaching it is very great practice to praise the positive actions of students because it encourages them to improve more and gain more praise. However, it does not mean that their negative actions should be ignored. At times, it is also necessary to bring light on the negative actions and help them to turn those negative actions into positive ones.

Teacher is a person who helps the students to improvise themselves. If the student is praised for his good actions and the negative ones are ignored then, he will never know about the negative actions which he possess and will never try to improve them. Eventually, these negative actions will be remain as they are unless someone brings light to them. Improvement can be achieved only if the student is trying to work on his negative actions and is taking efforts to convert them into good ones.

For instance, if there is a teacher who praises all his students for the good things they do such as completing daily homework on time, being attentive in class and suppose he ignores some of the negative actions like coming late to class. As the teacher praises good qualities there is no doubt that students will be encouraged and will continue to pay more attention in next class. But, as the teacher is ignoring their negative quality of coming late, they will never improve it. So, as a teacher he is failing to improve his students. He should bring to their notice all their negative qualities. Only then, they will take efforts to get rid of those negative actions.

It is true that bringing negative actions to notice will help students to improvise. But, this does not mean that teacher should focus on negative actions only. If teacher continues to do so, then students will end up hating that teacher and will not listen to any of the improvements he suggests to quell their negative actions. A good teacher is the one who is able to make a good balance of both of these. The teacher should explain why the actions are negative and why they should be avoided. If properly explained, then the students will improve these actions and try to avoid them.

Thus, according to me, the best way to teach is to have a proper balance of focusing on both negative and positive actions. Praising positive actions is also important as it encourages students. Also, it is important to inform them about the negative actions as it well help the students to improve these negative actions. The things that a child learns at growing age are the ones that goes on for a long in life. So, it is very important to inculcate as many good actions as possible because it will help the child in long run in life. This can be done by bringing light to the negative actions that the child possess.