The best way to teach—whether as an educator, employer, or parent—is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Any individual can be recognized as successful only when he is capable of overcoming all the odds and come out with flying colors. This bears the influence of his parents, his educators and his employers. He always looks up to them as his guide and expects them to support him in every difficulty he faces. This definitely does not mean that they must point out only the positive aspects of the person and ignore the negative ones as this will have a direct influence on his progress and in many cases it impedes his progress. No man is perfect. Every other person is an amalgamation of positive and negative behavior. When only the positive aspects are praised, no doubt one gets motivated but at the same time it is very important to highlight the negative aspects. This does not mean that the person has to be carped. The negative aspects must definitely not be ignored.

Parents are the most important people who influence the life of an individual. Children look up to their parents as idols and admire their actions and possess a dream to be successful just like their parents. Hence it is the responsibility of the parents to contribute in the well-being of their children. The children definitely get motivated to perform better when their positive actions are praised. But at the same time, it is necessary to point out the negative aspects as well. Parents might feel that the children might take it otherwise and might end up feeling dejected. But the parents know their children better and make efforts to make them aware in a positive way. When a child, studying in a particular school, is praised constantly for his positive actions and is never made aware of the negative actions. he begins to feel superior and flawless. But when the same student is moved to another school with higher competition, he feels left out and gets demotivated and will never become resilient.

Similar is the case with employers. When as employee is praised for his positive actions and his negative actions are never made aware to him, he feels the heat of the competition only when he steps out of his own world and sees the world outside. His positive actions which were a boon to his employer might become a curse to another employer. Hence timely emphasis on negative actions helps a person to move forward in the path of success.

There is another approach which must be brought to notice here, that is, the attitude of the people- whether they take the negative feedback as effectively as they take the positive feedback. In certain cases, a person might take the negative feedback very seriously and take adverse steps. When a teacher points out a mistake to the students, he starts comparing himself with the other students in the class who haven't been pointed out for their mistakes and feels demotivated and insulted.

Well, this can be decided only by the individual. The negative actions must be pointed out as a way for improvement and not be criticized. This would help the individuals to grow positively towards their goal.