Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I disagree with the statement that we should change the leaders after every five years. First and foremost, in my perspective, Effective decision making is influenced. The governing party will discuss and formulate policies based on multiple discussion which consumes initial years of their tenure. When the policies are finally implemented, they are able to learn based on people's reactions and built better policies. If they are asked to step down before they learn from mistakes, they will not be given time to understand the system and build effective and fast decisions for next time.

Long term projects are affected as when the new people are elected, they stop the current running projects and will engage people in their planning. The current employees under the new manager may get confounded , as the new manager completely change the priorities of projects. This will make the hard work and time of employees in existing project unfruitful.

Reforms need time to build. Decision making is not only affected by leadership but with time. New direction to think come from experience and challenges faced. Novice leaders may take time to settle in new scenarios and understand the existing workflow and administration whether it be business, or education. If the company manager keeps on changing, it will be difficult for people to If the leaders who doesn’t satisfy the people, automatically will be asked to step down after 5 years.

It is definitely true to certain extent, that new leadership will bring new ideas. But maybe similar ideas may be tried by previous leaders and failed. Revitalization in a system will be brought by people who are susceptible to new technologies, ideologies, creative yet effective decisions. These are the traits which existing person in power might have, hence we should ask people to step down people, when the enterprise success is hindered by the ignorant leaders. So it would be unwise decision to change the leadership regularly. It may not necessarily be after every five years. The duration may be further increased, based on how good are current leaders are.