Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Arguments, as we all aware of, happens only when a idea or a conclusion is being presented with lack of substance or without any evidence. Having said that, forcing someone to believe an idea against odds is never a illustration of an argument. Further, enunciating an argument to be the best by convincing the opponent only for the sake of showing a upper hand is barbaric. Hence I disagree with the claim and the reason that supports it. I shall present some explanations to support my stance in the following paragraphs.

Whenever, an idea or a view is in-forced on people, it is the human tendency to resent it naturally. We have been biologically programed to retaliate offensively when pressurized to agree upon something we clearly want to discard off. For example, when a customer wishes to buy some product of specific brand of his choice, the sellers cannot force him to alter his opinion. Even though his motives becomes successful he is likely to lose customers for such a unwelcoming gesture. Thus, personal benefits of winning an argument might seem resplendent but the after effects of it are egregious.

As H.H.Munro quoted "A little accuracy can save a lot of explanation" is true in the case of winning an argument naturally than standing along-side the reason mentioned. Thus,Presenting an argument with substantiating reasons and claims can be even more helpful than deliberately forcing the opponent to loosen his stand. Moreover, by defending our argument with intellectual proofs and ingenious statements we can naturally instigate the opponent to contrast his views.

To sum up, claiming an argument to be best just by forcing the opponent to agree, what so ever be the benefit, is completely nonsensical and by itself fails to meet the motto.