Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

This topic raises a very controversial issue of whether, the argument's best test is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint or, not. Indisputably, there are many arguments which convince the people with opposing view point by giving significant proof. Yet, it is not necessary that if the argument is worthy than it must be able to convince someone who opposes it. Thus, I would like to disagree with the contention of the author and would generally agree that the argument's best test is not its ability to cogent with viewpoint.

Firstly, there are many people who opposes some or the other viewpoints. But, it is not necessary that they are all correct about it. So, now for all those who are wrong it might be possible that some of them be so recalcitrunt that they straight away disagree with facts of the argument and the analytical results. These people exists everywhere. The authenticity of the argument if decided by these people than most of the established principles and rules would be relegated to spurious.

Secondly, the reason given for the contention is trivial. The value of that idea does not depend only on the defence against contrasting views and doubts of the others. To illustrate, let us take an example, like person is having an idea about making a solar toaster. As, he is able to defend his idea well so its value must be more. Some another person supposedly had an idea about Space Rocket Exhaustion System that affects the efficiency of the Space Rocket. But, he is not able to convince it to other. Hence, as a result his idea is less valuable. But, we know which one is more worthy obviously Rocket related one.

Admittedly, there are many arguments that convinces people of its worth and therefore, increases their value or makes themself more significant. But, that does not mean that only these ideas are worthy. This worthyness of the ideas must be decided by the other factors like its cost, affecting zones, related tools and equipments, etc. Also, there are many ideas that have proved their worth without any argument against anybody like economical set of ideas form the Economist Chanakya.

To sum up, the contention of the author is indefensible. It is contrary to the overwhelming evidence that, the ideas worthyness is not known by its ability to convince. Thus, as long as, some measurements are involved, or some cases are considered, the conclusion that the ideas significance is not its ability to convince but, are some other more reliable and evidential factors holds credit.