Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

The character of a society is a varied composition of the characters of the individuals that form a society. This character however is not necessarily equivalent to the character of heroes and role models that a society deems laudable. This equivalence is debatable as any society examined throughout this world consists of a vastly varied composition with varying idols, the perception of such role models may be critically flawed and even if the previous ideas are inherently flawed, it would be more accurate to say that the characteristics of role models are those that society aspire to.

Society, an ambiguous term in itself, comprises of wildy varying social classes, economic statuses and cultural groups. The probability that a singular society agrees that any woman or man and their character is their collective hero or role model is miniscule. Given the variability and tumultuous state of human existance, often a society may be in a factious state. An example of this would be during the Civil Rights Movement in America. During the Civil Rights Movement, the likes of Rosa Parks and Malcom Luther King Jr. would have been the heroes and role models for those advocating civil rights of African Americans. However given the immense opposition faced by them their characteristics of bravery and courage to stand up against the status quo would not have the ideals of the collective American society. If Rosa Parks or Malcom Luther King Jr. were lauded for their determination, courage and bravery, would this mean that all of society is brave, determined and couragous? The chances of this is minute.

However, generally there are common characteristics that a society would generally praise such as courage, kindness and magnanimity. The question is however whether examining the heros and role models of a society would be the best way to determine such characteristics. The complexities of humans make it difficult to assess the true character of heroes and role models. For example, a politian may be elected based on his campaign message of honesty and integrity. Individuals in society may believe that the politian's character is beyond reproach, however subsequent actions in office may indicate otherwise.

Heroes and roles models are often chosen and held up above the rest of society for their contribution to society and the characteristics they have exhibited in their contribution.

For that very reason, a distinction must be drawn between the characteristics of society and the characteristic of an individuals that society attempts to emulate. The heroes and role models and their characteristics are held above the rest of society for individuals in society as inspiration and as their aspiration. Aspiring to be like a hero is vastly different to being a hero, thus it cannot be said that the character of a society is best understood by exmining the character of their heroes and role models.

At best, it can be said that by examining the heroes and role models chosen by society is indicative of the characteristics that the society aspires to embody. However it cannot be said that the character of a society is best understood by examining the character of the men and women chosen given the complexities of humans and the varied perception of 'heroes' and 'role models'.