Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

The author of the issue claims that it is incumbent upon academic settings to provide an opportunity for students to take needed courses and expunge elective courses in order to guide students effectively. He further reasons that vast majority of students are inclined to keep track of directions, not of their own decisions. Personally, I refute the rationale behind both the claim and the reason. The following paragraphs will aptly substantiate my personal stance.

To commence with, the university as an academic center the main responsibility of which is to prepare students for having both a successful profession and personal life. In fact, experiences acquired at university or college make students decide their path and shape their future lives. Broadly speaking, university or college is an important academic center, which students will gain myriads of different knowledge and experiences. As a tangible example, based on a survey conducted in our country, crowds of students who studied at the university or a college in which elective courses are obliterated, were not the successful and knowledgeable person in their future lives and could not make the best use of their education. To elucidate more on this issue, elective courses provide fertile ground for students to become familiar with the various field of studies and not only can they broaden their horizon but also can make a progress in their education day in day out.

Another equally salient point in corroborating my stance is that in spite of learning much knowledge and acquiring different experiences, students will become familiar with different people with various attitudes and passions. If we take a minute to ponder over it, the main purpose of elective courses is not the only gaining knowledge but view life differently. Indeed, myriads of students with different cultures are willing to enroll for elective courses, so, it is a great opportunity for students to enhance their information about other civilizations and costume along with their study. It can be deduced from a combination of breadth of coverage and depth of detail that if elective courses wiped out by academic centers, it might have a deleterious effect on students' lives in the long run whether in their study or personal life.

As far as the reason is concerned, it should be pointed out that it is not a wise decision to force students to follow directions. One of the startling fact which flabbergasted me is that, when universities or colleges eliminate selective courses, students do not have any choice to select, so, they have to follow directions, not by their own decisions. It is better to help students follow their interest and act based on their own willing. Elective courses will provide students with a great chance to make known their interest and opt for their own decisions. In this case, not only will dropout rate diminish extensively and enormously but also will respect toward students' taste.