Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

In our modern society many young people ask themselves whether to try to make their dreams come true or to emphasize on some practical and valuable aims. In mu personal opinion the truth is between of these two edge situations. Nevertheless, the steps towards dreams should prevail in people's lives.

First of all, the claim states that it is better to deepen in the real worthy goals. Although this statement is a valuable advice, the life without dreams would be not fascinating and exciting, but dull and boring. Of course, no one says that young people should do nothing but dream, it is quiet important not to fell out from the real world and the real problems. At the same time it does not mean that they have to forget about their dreams. For example, imagine a young person who likes to sing a lot and would like to be very famous professional singer. The right way to achieve that goal is to do something that will outstand him/her out of many singers. Nevertheless, staying at home and trying to write a good song and simultaneously having problems with money is not the best track to the dream. He/she should also be a little be materialistic and to earn money singing in bars or restaurants, even he/she does not enjoy this option. This is a kind of balance between the reality and the dreams. There are many examples of such artists as Lady Gaga, Grigoriy Leps and others who started their career from the beneath.

Secondly, many people would advise to stick to the real world problems and goals because young people's dreams are selfish. While it is possible that these dreams might be selfish, there is strong evidence that many people are altruistic and many of them would like to try to help others. There are a lot of instances of artists who are becoming free will ambassadors of the UN in order to solve the problems like poverty in Africa, expansion of HIV, regional war conflicts and etc and what is more important that they are really willing to do so. There are many celebrities who aim to adopt children from Africa like A. Jolie and who support women rights equality like E. Watson.

To conclude, there is no doubt that people should think about the worthy goals. However it does not mean to reject dreams, these both should be combined to make lives of people exciting and at the same time feasible in the sense of possibilities in achieving the dream goals.