Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish

"The best in us is determined only when we are in state of giving the best". The famous saying implies that if we are doing things perfunctorily, we won't be able to give our best. Indeed, it is true.

People always suggest us to do things which is worthy or more likely to produce more result. In the course of this we forget what we like. Moreover this leads to frustration and the internal peace is not achieved.

The person who is dispassionate about a task is more likely not to produce a good result in it. Unless you are interested in something you cannot do it with full dedication. A task done with dedication is always a fruitful one. Consider a example of Indian cricket team captain M.S.Dhoni. In his childhood everybody told him to not to follow his dream of becoming cricketer. A chance for a average person, in a population of 1.3 billion, to become a cricketer was very less. As a result of society he was forced to do engineering and ultimately become a ticket collector at railway station. But he soon realized that his place is in field and not at train station. As a result of his tenacious nature he pursued his dream and today his is well known as one of the best captains of era.

Similar is the example of great author Mr. Chetan Bhagat. Chetan was forced into a engineering college by his parents. He was asked to either pursue engineering or leave the house as a matter of fact. Because of parental restrictions chetan joined the engineering college and also completed his MBA from one of the most prestigious colleges in country. He joined a bank and was getting a pretty good salary. But ultimately he was frustrated of it and decided to write a book. Today, he is the best seller of many novels that have published. If Mr. Bhagat would have left his dream of writing, he would have been too frustrated.

However, it cannot be said that everyone will find what they want to do in the rudimentary stages of life. Most of the people are confused about what they want to do in their life and they become liable to sheep effect. Sheep effect means doing something what everybody does. It is only after few years they realize that their interest lies somewhere else. The famous example would be Mr. Satya Nadela, CEO, Microsoft corporation. Mr. Nadela pursued his education is material science from a average Indian university. Only after completing his graduation he realized his interest was in MBA and not in material science. He completed his MBA from university of Wisconsin. Today he is the CEO of a multinational corporation. Thus, we cannot say that everybody knows what they want to do in life. Hence a sheep effect can sometimes neither be harmful nor useful.

As a result, it can be inferred that following ones goals in very necessary. The satisfaction in life is achieved only when you have gained peace. A job frustration is deleterious effect on ones life.