Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Today in the world the rate by which population is increasing is very high. Each and every person has a some kind of dream, like to become a rich businessman like Steve Jobs or to become a well known actor or musician, while some prefer to become a scholar in the field of science, arts or literature. These are all dreams that want to be achieved as most of us think when we are in our childhood or teenage.

In achieving these dreams all of them become selfish in one or another way.

The author's claim that instead of following your dreams one should first emphasize on picking up worthy goals which simply means to look for a field in which there is a better scope in the future to make it as a career and one can sustain or survive by earning more than enough for his or her living as well as fulfill the family needs economically. In supporting the claim, the author says that most of the people are inherently selfish supports the claim almost in many of the cases.

Suppose, if a person wants to become a successful businessman in order to earn more money and live a lavish and luxurious life and spend time with the family on world tour etc. then he is definitely trying to be selfish. But everyone cannot become a successful businessman or even if he becomes than he won't get time for his own personal life. So it won't be a worthy goal from a personal point of view.

Taking another example of a person being in his young age and aspiring to become a musician or start band. In this the person has to be very much selfish as he might not get support from his family members because of the field not being a worhthy option or it might not be a promising career option. For this reason he must face the hardships.