Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals. Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to whic

Social customs inevitably affect choosing one's dream. Most jobs are social products in a sense that jobs exist because there is a social demand for the professionals. Therefore, it is extremely hard to decide which job is worthier than the other jobs since every job is equally important for a society to function properly. Thus, young people should be encouraged to pursue their own dreams instead of being forced to pick worthy goals.

Admittedly, there exists some difference in salary between jobs. Superstar athletes are paid six, seven, or even eight figures annual salary while average office workers are paid six figures if he gets lucky. However, how much one is paid cannot be an absolute scale of measuring the worthiness of a certain job because worthiness contains various concepts. Moreover, comparing the value of jobs is unavailable because different people praise different values. Public school teachers advise young students and play so much role in forming characters and attitudes of students. Obviously, teachers are paid lower than sports stars but no one can assert being a teacher is less worthy than being an athlete. Some people could value raising kids in a right way and desire to be a teacher. A value of a job cannot be measured quantitatively.

Following one's own dream is essential because it helps him keep motivated. Chasing dreams, one faces numerous obstacles and has to weather the hardships. A kid who dreams to be a doctor and save people's lives has to enter and graduate a medical school. In a process, he has to bear long hours of study for about ten years. If his dream was forced by his parents who are attracted by the high income of doctors, it is unlikely that he could endure that long period of intense competition. It is unbelievable how self-motivated people accomplish the greatness.

In a process of choosing one's dream, people value different qualities of the dream. Some people decide to be a lawyer just because lawyer are paid higher than other jobs, while other people focus on saving legally uninitiated individuals in the law suits. Whether dreams are selfish or altruistic depends on one's attitude and cannot be generalized.

It is part of choosing a dream to predict its financial compensation and social preconception. However, contemplating on what I value is important because every job has its own worth and it is important to find the right dream for myself, not the others.