Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated

The statement claims that governments should ensure enough financial support to their mega cities for them to survive. The author then justifies it with a reason that it is primarily in big cities that a country's major cultural traditions are preserved and generated. The statement does have some merits considering the cultural diversity any metro city offers but is laced with some flaws if not entirely specious.

Firstly, culture can be defined as arts, customs, ideals and social behavior of a group of people or society, and the transmission of these aspects from one generation to other is called as 'tradition'. Big cities around the world, e.g. Paris, London, Barcelona, etc., have a lot traditional buildings and architecture - Eiffel Tower, Tower of London, Libraries, Museums and so on. Preservation of these architectures needs financial resources and is essential to conserve the aesthetic part of the cultural heritage of a country. However, beyond this , the utility of financial aid in cultural preservation is limited.

Other aspects of cultural practices in their pristine form is better visible in rural areas. The demographics of a country is also essential in determining from where the cultural contribution to a nation is likely to come. For example, in India, 74% of the population lives in villages and are mostly agrarian. Government can only preserve these agricultural practices through better funding on farming and related activities. Similarly, there are myriad traditional professions in the villages and small cities, e.g. lock making, handicrafts, hand-made leather footwear, etc. needing financial assistance for their survival. Considering the limited resources any government has, a proportionate amount of finances must be diverted to these villages and their masses depending upon their population.

Major cities are also highly sensitive to modern technological advancements. For instance, multiplexes have taken over classical theater shows, fast-food restaurants have become an alternative to traditional cuisine, and so on. Any cosmopolitan has diverse groups of people from different parts of the country or even abroad, mostly to earn their living. While they may exhibit some essence of their cultural roots, those traditions are purer in the villages or small cities where they actually come from. For example, in India the traditional 'dhoti's (a piece of garment draped around the waist by men) and 'saree's (a garment draped around the body worn by women) get replaced by corporate attire in office spaces. In major cities, People are mostly engaged with daily struggles of their life and get little time to shift their attention to cultural issues. In metropolis, rather than funding for cultural protection, good financial support to other important factors like health, education, employment, etc. may relieve these diverse groups of any financial and social apprehensions. This in turn can help them focus on their cultural traditions. Moreover, other intangible aspects of a culture like literature, values, beliefs, customs, social behavior etc. are naturally inherited from one generation to the other and can only be protected through education and propagation.