Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Throughout the human history, towns and villages have witnessed the evolution of the most important society’s traditions. Now, after thousands of years, it has been claimed that the largest cities in one country should be particularly supported from their government; the reason for this statement is that the traditions and costumes of a culture are primarily conceived within the major cities. Therefore, they should be provided with the financial aid they need. While it is undeniably true that the most important metropolises give home to a high percentage of the overall population of a country, and thus, they offer much more services than smaller villages and they should be particularly supported by the government, it is not equally valid that traditions are just maintained in the biggest cities.

In fact, the opposite is generally true. Think of Japan; the most important city in Japan, Tokyo, has been reached by globalization and, while the unique Japanese costumes can be found in many temples throughout the external neighborhoods of the city, the city in general is now a mixture of offices and big buildings, far from the ideal of calmness and peaceful Buddhist meditation that represents the original Japanese traditions.

Of course, this is not the reason for the Japanese government – or, in general, for any governmental agency – not to fund the city’s needs in the most adequate way, though the government’s finances should also be directed towards the real sources of traditional costumes, such as the smaller villages near Nara and Kyoto, which should be kept in their original state in order to really preserve the original atmosphere.

Nonetheless, this reasoning can lead to the wrong direction if we do not think about the specific history of a country. The example made above is valid for Japan, which society has long been closed to external influences. Italy is a different example; in fact, even the major cities in Italy are not as big as New York City or Tokyo, though Rome, which is the capital, is home to the most relevant Italian history and its traditions are still today kept alive in its narrow streets and little squares. The same holds for the small towns and villages near the Roman area and in Tuscany, which are for the most part empty – people have now slowly migrated to more populated and accessible areas – but they are excellent examples of how life was a few centuries ago.

In addition, not only the smaller cities should be funded too, but some of those may require special attention from the government. Indeed, especially in Germany (think about Dresden, for example) the smaller cities are the most important ones in terms of need to thrive, since they usually host one large university and are populated mainly by students that should be one of the main priorities when managing governmental funds.

Therefore, it can not be stated, without examining the specific case, whether the society’s traditions are preserved in bigger or smaller agglomerates of people. Certainly, preserving the traditions and costumes is fundamental to maintain the sense of cohesion and nationalism that holds together a country and determines its flourishment; thereby, governments should take this issue, and the fact that sometimes traditions come from the smallest and forgotten towns, into account when assessing their yearly budgets.