Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.Write a response in which you discuss the e

In his claim, the author maintains that government must ensure that major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive. I firmly agree with author's position as it is the cities where all the financial, economic and political decisions are made. However the reason asserted by author that it is the cities that preserve a nation’s cultural and traditional values is not true.

If we assume a nation as a train then cities are engines of it. Hence it of prime to maintain a steady supply of fuel (financial support) keeps it moving. Cities are gears of clockwork that working together for the development of a country and hence are the driving force of a nation’s prosperity. With lack of funds, there would be less jobs, less infrastructural improvements, less purchasing power of an individual and thus will create an atmosphere of hopelessness. This will seriously impact the economy of the city and will impact social and economic performance indicators of the country.

However, cities, though being the center-points of country's economy, they do not provide reflection of a country's culture. They are not the center of tradition and values of a nation. It is the small town and villages where true soul of the country resides. With people striving and running an endless race to excel in cities, they do not have much time to focus on culture and tradition. It is the people in rural areas who are more relaxed and are more sentimental towards religious beliefs. They celebrate each festival with equal joy and help in preserving our traditions.

To help keep the traditions alive, government should provide much needed financial support to small tows/villages of the country. It is in small town and villages where one can find true reflection of the characteristics of a society.

Hence the government should ensure steady funding of its major cities but also holds responsibility to provide much needed resources to uplift its small town and villages. By doing this it will be able to preserve the nation’s cultural and traditional values and progress towards development.