Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.Write a response in which you discuss the e

It is popularly believed that governments ought to guarantee that their major cities receive the financial support those cities need in order to prosper because they are generate and preserve national traditions. Although I concur with the first part of the claim, I agree with the reason only partly due to the reasons which will be discussed below in details.

To begin with, central cities definitely ought to be supported financially because those megalopolises are source of enormous economic power of today's world. For instance, such cities as Moscow, New York and London embrace headquarters of many multinational corporations and firms which generate significant share of countries GDP, from this viewpoint it is reasonable to create decent infrastructure and conditions for those businesses. In other words, governments ought to spend money in order to make those megalopolises friendly and convenient for big and small businesses and thus reassure the economic growth of the state.

The second reason to support big cities is that those megalopolises attracts many tourists from all over the world, you may ask why I should care. The reason is that those cities represent the nation, the country and its government as well. In other words, great cities create image of the country in the international scale. And state’s image creates people’s attitude to the state and its actions as well. Consequently, by supporting financially big cities we promote the state and create positive image about it. Once again, you may be perplexed and ask why it is so important to create positive perception of a state. The answer is that appealing image not only attracts tourists and their money but also make the state more attractive for financial investment as well. Therefore, by creating positive image we attract money which is needed for economic prosperity.

The third reason is that megalopolises generate culture. Those cities are homes for tenths of millions of people who came from different places and countries have distinct background and perhaps belong to different cultures have to try to find common language which allows them to work and live together. To illustrate an idea we may take a look at Los Angeles. This great city gives a shelter to several millions of people. Those people came from other countries, continents, cities and rural areas as well. Consequently, a Russian migrant has to work with a local resident and with other people from other countries such as India, China, and Vietnam. Although they have different attitudes and even values, they have to concentrate on their similarities in order to be able to work together. This interaction, which otherwise will be impossible, creates cosmopolitan culture. In other words, great metropolises are melting pots where novel culture is created. Of course, some of us believe that culture is preserved in cities as well but unfortunately, the city's conditions have little room for preservation of obsolete mores and thus people ought to adapt or be outcast.

In conclusion, first of all major cities should be supported financially because those cities are economic engines of state, secondly, the metropolises may create appealing image of the country and thus attract investors and their money. Additionally to it, new culture is generated in the cities as well. Consequently, by financing those cities we guarantee our social and economic prosperity.