Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.
Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.
The claim that governments must ensure financial support to the major cities in order for them to thrive makes sense as the major cities reflect as to what
a country is capable of producing to its optimum potential. However, the reason that it is only the cities wherein the cultural traditions are preserved may
not not be true in every aspect since there are a lot of factors which determine where the traditions are preserved.
To begin with, the cities represent a more modern society in terms of technological advancements and infrastructure which causes major footfall from
around the world. It is the major cities that have a massive chunk of population residing in the country as there are a lot of opportunities in those cities
to thrive in. There are multinational corporations, diplomats, celebrities and other VIP’s who pay a lot of their percentage of income in taxes and hence
the governments should ensure that amenities are to their upmost level.
Moreover, there are a lot of tourists who come to visit these cities for various purposes and hence the financial support is needed to build such an infrastructure
which wouldn’t draw them out as tourism generates a lot of income. As there are a lot of people residing in such cities there is a lot of traffic on roads, railways
and to make sure that everything is sailing smoothly the government should have a fine set of individuals with appropriate budget to devise a plan out. For instance,
in an overpopulated city like Mumbai there is a significant amount of traffic problems so the government is now coming up with the metro to make sure that people do
have an alternative apart from the already clogged roads and the old-fashioned railways.
In contrast, the reason stated that nation’s cultural traditions are preserved only in the cities may not be true. In fact, it is the cities which are metropolitan in nature
and henceforth the only place where the culture can be really seen and felt are the villages and small towns. It is these towns who have certain sects of people staying
in groups which actually reflect the culture’s diversity and they maintain the integrity. it would be pure injustice to small towns if the government doesnt support them
financially as it is these small towns that have a higher rate of poverty and other evils such as malnutrition and higher mortality rates.
To conclude, the cities are a major part of society for various reasons and financial support is a major factor in determining that. But, the small towns cannot be ignored
as they are the ones who actually reflect the true image of the cultural diversity and not cities who are metropolitan in nature and whose culture gets dissolved in time.
Ultimately, both are equally important in determining the overall success of the society in different aspects.