Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim stated above seems irreproachable. A lot of the problems in the world cannot be solved by just the laws and legal system without the support of humans themselves. However, the reasoning seems probable for some case but cannot be used to completely justify the claim. The reasoning used somehow tries to undermine the importance of the law in society.

Morals of a person is something that no law can change. A person who is unconcerned about the discomfort of others might park his car in a way which obstructs the parking of another person. No law in the world can deal with all the problems faced by the society at the root levels, but the law is important to define a set of standards by which the citizens should abide. How a person thinks depends on the society he brought up in, however law cannot affect the decision making of all the individuals it can certainly provide a framework within which a society should work.

While the claim seems to be accurate, the reasoning seems rather absolute and seems to question the usability of law across the society. It states that law cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds. It might be true that a law cannot influence what is in people's heart but can surely help to influence the mind of a rational person. A person can decide to not pay rent to his landlord for a given month, but the consequences offered by the law will influences the person's decision making.

Simply stating laws in the constitiuion is also not enough at the same time, what matters most is the enforcement of current laws. There could be a law to prevent littering in public areas, but without enforcement of such a law it remains upto the citizen as to litter or not. At the same time what also matters from enforcement is the process of law making in itself. The subtleties which are ensured by the law, play a major role, while rash driving could be illegal in a country what constitutes as rash driving could be used as a loophole to break the law.

In several countries, law states that after a certain hour at night, loud music is prohibhited, a person unaffected by the society without the presnece of law would play music day and night according to his/her comfort, but due to mere presence of law the person's decision to play loud music is influenced by the law. At the end of the day, it is completely upto humans whether to act as a morally responsible citizen of the society or be a plague in the society. Several problems cannot be solved by the laws, but as stated above in several examples, laws are definitely necessary to influence the society by providing a set of guidelines in which it should function. It would be too naive to assume that laws play no role in affecting the decisions of humans.