Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

True, that there are some problems and loop holes in the contemporary legal system, but problems of the modern society is not beyond the scope of this laws. The claim is refutable and the reason provided for the claim is under-developed as well. Several arguments can be provided to refute the claim.

To begin with, laws might fail to change the malevolent desires that people already have in their hearts, but it can pursue commonplace citizen to abide by morals, when they are exposed to situations when personal interests or rage might obfuscate one's judgement. Laws might not be able to teach about morals, and they are not supposed to anyways, but they daunt by punishments.

Additionally, some laws might be obsolete and out dated, but they can never be useless, formulating new laws takes time and exhausting analysis for serving what is just. The modern society might face some unprecedented problems but it can rest assured that justice will be served sooner. For instance, the cyber crime, in the beginning of 19th century no one would have ever imagined that crimes and and criminals stealing money, data and identity virtually will flourish in the 21st century. In Contrast to the statement, the development of these cyber crime investigation departments have proven that legal systems indeed keep up with the modern society.

Moreover, those who believe that people who are determined to do what they have precluded, might condone the fact that legal systems have indeed pursued several criminals to give up in tensed situations. For evidence, hostage situation counselors, these the people who have the job of negotiating with the criminals in hostage situations, are living example of law changing what people have in their minds.

However, we all are aware of certain mishaps from the past, no matter what laws we formulate, those who have given up on their lives do succeed in their malevolent plans, from vehicle attacks to mass shootings this decade has seen it all in United States. This indeed is beyond laws can prevent. It is agreeable to some extent that people who have suffered some serious lass in their dignity, identity of mental acuteness, succeed even after knowing that they will be getting major punishment sentences, exist. But this is beyond any systems control. Only until a vigilance system that could prevent such attacks comes into existence.

Conclusively, the role of law is complex in modern society, those who are determined to achieve what they want at the cost of their lives do fall beyond the scope of law, but the actual job for which law and legal systems have been established, which is to server justice to people, is being achieved.