Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Motivation is a word to refer to the reason or reasons for engaging in a particular behavior, especially human behavior as studied in psychology and neuropsychology. What are the criteria to evaluate the motivation of actions that the people do? Some claim that no act is done purely for the benefit of others because that all actions-even those that seem to be done for other people-are based on self-interest. Although behaviors with selfish character are ubiquitous in many fields, such as in politics and technology areas, it is no doubt that plenty of people choose to act based on the benefit of a group rather than self-interest or even sacrifice themselves. Therefore, I strongly disagree with either the claim or the reason on which the claim is based.

In the first place, Sigmund Freud proposed three aspects of our personality structure that directly affect our decisions. The elements that Sigmund Freud talks about are the Id, Ego, and Super Ego. Charles Darwin offered perhaps even more powerful justification for the selfish behavior-the theory of natural selection. Aptly described as "survival of the fittest," Darwin's evolutionary account of biological diversity was a powerful story of adaptation through the continuous variation of traits and the selection of those that improved "fitness." Therefore, it is an instinct that the people decide to act based on their self-interest not only in daily life but in important circumstances. An appropriate example is not very far to seek. Steve Jobs, the entrepreneur and founder of Apple Inc. that manufactured the prevalent and popular Mac, iPod, and iPhone, the unbelievable scant share of Apple stock to his co-founders and partners when he wanted to control the company and exile his founders out the board. On the contrast, that he held a big share of Apple stock is considered as selfish and voracious. In such cases, selfish people always act based on Ego.

That being said, I must point out that human beings are a social animal and respond to external stimuli. Therefore, social norms determine to a large extent what can be or cannot be done. The reason why humans are a social species can be traced back to the ancient time when individuals were vulnerable to nature's elements. When they acted collectively, however, humans became stronger which substantially increased their chance of survival. Over time, being a part of a group or tribe became a survival advantage, with banishment often equaling demise. In this sense, one would face the risk of perishing alone if he or she defied social norms. Meanwhile, it is no surprise that human beings always act based on the priority of social and group benefit. To illustrate this point clearly, let us have a look at the following representative example. During the current pandemic COVID-19, thousands of doctors, nurses, and medical experts struggle with the virus on the frontline with the patient even if they are susceptible to the COVID-19 as well. Rather than unknowing the serious outcome of COVID-19 once being infected, the white-clothes angels fought against the illness with great valiance and braveness only because that they think about the social and group benefit.

Finally, if we switch our attention to the field of science, we find that actions based on altruism are much more universal. All that a great scientist should be equipped with is the potential or capability to devote himself or herself to the research and free from the material care. Marie Curie, who gained great achievement in Physics and won the Nobel Prize twice, is the exact example of the aforementioned great scientists who sacrificed herself to provide a significant benefit for the whole human being.

In conclusion, while I partly agree with the issue's reason, I reserve my approval of both the claim and its assumption. That is to say, even many people act only based on self-interest, but there are plenty of others choose to behave altruistically, even sacrifice themselves.