"College students-and people in general-prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions. Therefore, colleges should eliminate as many choices as possible in order to offer students clear direction."

It is human nature to follow what other people are pursuing and we are often influenced by the people around us. It is true that humans rely on others and tend to follow the same path due to many factors. One such would be to avoid risk as they don't know whats on the other side of the road. Humans take the help of other individuals or rely on older people to make a choice as they believe they are more experienced and have a better outlook on life. Taking colleges in to consideration, we see many students pursuing the same realm as one of their friends and they avoid making their own decision. However this is not always true. Everyone doesn't follow this pattern. Many people go to different realms on their own interest. Also, the role of a college should also be to encourage students to take up different fields rather than narrowing the scope of choices to be made. If the number of choices are cut down, then it would lead to only few options and again everyone seems to travel in the same path.

A child, when is an year old, takes the help of his parents to walk. Parents guide them and teach them how to walk, how to behave, how to talk. An infant cannot learn these without the help of his parents. The qualities required to live in this society are developed in the kids at a very small age with their parents assistance and at this age it is important for them to follow the path paved by their parents to develop as one would not know how to get up and move around. However, the child should try to walk and falling down is what makes him learn. This would help him know what would happen when he is trying to do a specific task. Thus gradually the ability to make own decision develops.

While a child depends on his parents to make choices, it is different in the field of higher studies. Colleges today offer various programs and yet all branches don't have the same number of students studying in it. The create a balance and to develop the growth in all realms, it is important for students to take different courses. These students education would play a great role is designing the society and future factors. For this purpose, the college has to encourage students and explain them the importance of each field and once students acquire the knowledge about a field they would like to pursue it if, it is their interest. College should also create a sense of independence and decision making power in individuals which would make them survive in the world. However, narrowing down the number of choices available would not help in the betterment of the society in any way. This would have adverse effects and the nation and many fields of study would become passive as there would be no students in the abeyance fields to do any further research.

However, the interest of the student should not be dismissed. Students have a freedom to make their own choice and can choose their field of interest rather than stick rightly to what the administrators want them to take up.

In conclusion, colleges should not cut down the options for students but rather encourage them to pursue studies in different fields. This would help achieve a great amount of success in every field possible and pave the path for development of the nation and society and help solve many problems in different fields.