Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The above policy that requires all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach would obviously prove to be a beneficial one. This policy if implemented will not only be beneficial for the students but to the faculty itself.

A sixty minute lecture can be more fruitful and productive and creative if a professor sparks an interest among his students. A university professor is undoubtedly a doctorate in a particular subject. What use is his PhD if all he does is going to the lecture, teaching what the curriculum says and getting back to his office doing all the paper work a university asks to do. Until and unless he will not provide himself with the opportunity to go outside and explore the possibilities and the usefulness of the topics he teaches in the real world, he would not be able to provide the students with quality education.Also, working outside the academic world will open his mind to new possibilities which he wouldn’t even have guessed during his doctorate.

A professor is as much responsible for shaping a student’s future as he himself is. The college and university students already come with their minds set up with their goals. The first person he looks forward for help is his professor. What if that professor cannot encourage him, discuss with him about the latest researches, insight him with the new possibilities emerging in his area of interest, or provide him with alternatives in which he could do better. This would not have been the case if the professor would have stepped out of his cage into the real world. All this needs is opening his mind to the real world and thus helping students to think and imagine on a broader basis.

Now think about a professor who works outside the academic world and have all the latest news about his field and the subject he teaches. His class will most definitely be an interactive hub – students asking questions and teacher trying his very best to answer him in as friendly and as close to the real world they face every day. He will explain the topic based on the daily life incidents and the students will understand easily compared to the explaination given by other professors.

So definitely, the given policy if implemented would be a great step towards human development and for the long term.