Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Essay topics

Whether the college faculty should spend time working outside in the academic world is certainly a debatable issue. While, it might help professors have a pragmatic edge to their courses, preparing the students for the industry; on the other hand it serves as a distraction to the research undertaken by the professors. While a little professional experience might help, I cannot concur with making it mandatory, as suggest by the author of issue.

A majority of the professors and faculty in a college are researching in their respective fields. The courses they teach, normally, are germane to their respective field of research. Students takes a studied decision when they apply to a course under a certain faculty. A student might have known about the practical implication of the course in the professional world, or she could have known about the illustrious work the professor had done in the field. In both of the cases, the professor does not need to have know-how of the workings outside the academic world. In the former case, the student itself will accrue the knowledge about the profession she wants to choose. For the latter case, student herself might be more inclined towards research work which might render have profession know how useless.

Although many companies now-a-days, have a positive outlook towards research and development, it does not guarantee the freedom that is required to do research. Company projects are stringently timed. They, also, have a keen focus on profitability of the research. Hence, research conducted by these companies have a parochial scope. Now, even if a professor did some work under one of these companies, this myopic outlook of research might add little to the his academic course. Moreover, many subtle things take up most of the time when you are working in a professional environment. A employee have to interface with business units, follow a certain process of producing the intended product, work in a certain time limit, undergo meetings that have little to do with actual work etcetera. This menial and mundane tasks take up a lot of time, which could have used productively otherwise.

In addition to this, there are many fields who are still in rudimentary stages. These fields are not, as-of-now have professional world counterpart. For example, there might be some new technology regarding information transformation, which cannot be profitably implemented. It makes little sense for a professor to undergo a professional tenure for such a field. Also, there are fields in which getting professional experience is not as state forward as it may seem. For example, in psychology, recreating the actual world scenarios is the only way, to understand a specific factor affecting a population sample. It makes sense to use findings of a psychology research in implementing some idea used by a company, example Facebook. Yet, these specific result cannot be observed in outside environment. Hence, it makes little to no sense for psychology professors to pursue work outside academic career.

In conclusion, due to above-mentioned reasons; it is imprudent to say that universities should mandate work outside academic aspects of a field for a professor. Proper considerations should be taken, like whether a field requires such a pragmatic view, or if the students will even benefit from inculcating these professional nuances in their courses.