Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Should colleges and universities force their students to study at least one semester abroad? No simple answer on this question exists because results of policy implementation is deeply connected with circumstances of its fulfillment such as the size of a country its relationships and connections with other states, a profession and specialization of students as well as financial situation of the state which is going to fulfill the policy. All of those circumstances will be analyzed in more details below.

To begin with, it is important to understand how a country which wants to run the policy is connected with the other. For instance, such country as Sweden may acquire remarkable benefits from the policy owing to the fact that it has well-established, long-lasting and deep connections with its neighboring countries and many other ones which are located all over the world. Many of countries businesses and structures work with foreign companies and thus alumnae who have experience of living and working abroad will be in high demand. By contrast, such country as Russian Federation which has relatively small number of companies which work with international firms will not acquire significant benefits from the program.

What is more, financial situation of a polity which is going to fulfill the policy plays an appreciable role in success of it. For instance, Norway or Denmark, which are relatively small countries with small population, is reach enough to fund for the program. At the same time, a poor country as Nigeria which has a huge population of poor citizens may not be able to pay for the program’s realization. The attempt to fulfill the policy in it will not only ruin weak local economy but undermine other social programs such as available elementary education for children.

Finally, even when we have a deal with rich countries which have strong connections with the foreign states the blind implementation of the policy still highly doubtful due to the fact that not all professions require from a person to study abroad. For instance, a person who is going to be a math teacher, perhaps, has no need to spend a semester abroad, at the same time, one who studies international relationships may acquire a precious experience in the profession by studying a semester in foreign country.

In conclusion, although at the first glance, it may seem that the policy has no significant drawbacks, a more thoughtful and attentive gaze at it reveals that in some circumstances implementation of the program may bring rather harm than benefits for the state and students. Thus, the fulfillment of the policy should be done with the respect to countries’ international positions, its connections with foreign states, its financial condition and students' professions as well.