The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

The given issue is a controversial topic of whether the desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. Indisputably, to run a corporation, the CEO possibly has two options in hand: either it can reduce the cost to the company or it can increase the price of its products. Both the cost reduction and the increase in rates of the commodities will help the company maximize its profit. And both these tactics for maximizing profit creates a conflict with the general welfare of the public and the nation at large.

Firstly, the cost reduction to a company can be done either by decreasing the cost of raw materials for making a product or by decreasing the salary of the workers who work at there firms. The former cannot be decreased below a certain amount because of the market conditions and so the pay for an employee is reduced for maximizing the profit. In heavily populated countries like China and India, the cost of labor is very less as if someone refuses to do a work at such a low price, there will be ten other to take his place. For example, Infosys ltd employs around 1.93 lakh employees all over the world out of which around 1.5 lakh are only in India. The salary which it gives to its fresher employees is a mere $1.5 per hour while its charges around $20 per hour for each of them from their clients. Thus the cost reduction technique for maximizing the profit reduces the income of so many people in India.

Furthermore, for profits can also be maximized by increasing the cost of a product and if the company is running in a monopoly market, there is no stopping it.