"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

The stated issue at hand is that the desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. While corporations do have every right dictate how much and how often to increase their targets profits by, stronger consideration needs to be given by each corporation as to their impact on to the welfare of the nation and local communities as a whole. Their continued emphasis on increasing annual profits and exceeding last years profit ranges places a heavy toll on the nation. When corporation push for increased profits one of the first areas that take a hit is jobs. A second result in attempting to increase products is money leaving the community due to the fact corporations found other resources at lower cost and the final reason is that the loss of jobs and the flow of money exiting a community adds to downfall of economic areas with a nation.

First, When corporations push to increase their profits, jobs are the first area of cost most manager look to deliver results for the company. While the lower costs do reflect higher revenue margins, the impact on the local community is not ideal. Many families are left without a mean of income and forced to relocate in order to provide for their families. Corporation in many cases employee a large portion in a specific area and with the loss of jobs it creates economic instability within that area.

Second, with the departure of positions in corporations, many families do not have the mean to buy items in the area. This translate to less money circulating in the local economy and will eventually reflect on the health of that local economy forcing many to relocate to other areas that are able to better support their families.

Third, even though corporations enjoy the benefits of increased profits when they incorporate their decisions to pursue lower costs to maximize profits, there is a much longer lingering effect of those decisions. If you take a look at domestic cities within the US, like Detroit, the evidence is right there that pursuit of maximized profits will lead to the inevitable down fall of cities all together. All the cities in a geographic area are interconnected and when corporations make adjustments, like maximizing profits at the expense of the population, results like Detriot, a once great economic area, exist.

In conclusion, when corporations desire to maximize profits is does create great conflict on the general welfare of the nation at large. While initially it may seem harmless in removing a few job here and there, in the long run the consequences awaiting those decisions is much more severe. The loss of job, the lessening of money circulating in an economy and the decline of cities with economic power all leads to the downfall of a nation.