Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Is there any role of educational institutes, and the universities, in assisting students to choose a particular field of study? This is always a debatable and big question among educational institute staffs – and the professors. While some stakeholders would argue that students should be free enough to opt any field of study they like, but this contention is like universities shunning their responsibilities toward the future of their students. Therefore, in private, I believe that educational institutions have a responsibility to convince their students to elect the course in which they are likely to succeed.

Those who would argue that educational institutions do not have authority to force someone to choose particular field of study would argue that such institutes should not interfere in the personal choices and freedom of students. This argument is not logically cogent, however. In fact, its not about forcing someone, but it is about suggesting someone, who is already in the position to think what is wrong and what is right. And its not about interfering the personal life of some students, but its about helping someone’s life better. After leaving home for higher studies, college staffs, and the professors, are the people with whom any student spends time more than his parents: it is the moral responsibility of them to them to persuade them about the field of study in which he is likely to succeed easily.

Now, consider the another aspect of the argument: educational institutions have a responsibility to convince their students to elect the course in which they are likely to succeed. College staffs and teaching professors are, obviously, more matured and expert in several things of life. They know the strength and weakness of any student quite easily. Therefore, they can make a good judgement about the field of study in which he can be prosperous. Hence, to shape a student’s life, and in broader sense to shape a nation, educational institutes should tell students about what is the right field of study for them.

Likewise, in many context, we can see many examples where students make a good life due to the proper guidance of teachers, and the institute. My mate Niraj is an example. He used to be a dull and obtuse student till class ten. Later, he elected intermediate in science and joined the college. For a dull student, the course of study was tough and hence, he started to go to the teacher’s apartment for study and more advice. Although it may sound like a magical tale, it is true that he topped the entire district in class 11, and 12. Now, after getting scholarship, he is pursuing his Ph. D in economics at Yale University.

To recapitulate, it is clear that educational institutes should bear the moral responsibility to guide its students while electing different courses and field of studies. The arguments and example presented above bolster my position in this contest. Such institute are the pillars of shaping future of any nation: they should start this task by shaping the future of individual students by convincing them which field of study is good for them.