Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss to what extent you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions have responsibilities to teach students the knowledge of the field, critical thinking, ways of solving problems and encourage them to perform better in their chosen field. They do not have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they will unlikely succeed because students have their reasons for choosing a field of study; nobody is capable of predicting the future for sure; different people may have different definitions for “success.” Therefore, I disagree with the claim.

Very often, students choose a field for some particular reasons. These reasons will greatly affect they effort made in the field. For example, some students choose their fields because of their interest. Some students choose a field because of their family background, say, their family business needs them to have knowledge of certain field. These reasons are often the motivations which have a substantial impact on the achievement of students. Consequently, some students may not be the most talent ones; yet, motivated by the great interest, they may eventually succeed. On the other hand, if the educational institutions insist on dissuading students from the fields, they may lose original motivation. As a result, students may fail in the field where their institutions predict they will succeed. Moreover, different people may have different definitions for “success.” For some people, their chosen fields may not get them the best lives or much extra money; nevertheless, they are happy with what they are doing. This is considered “success” though many educational institutions may disagree. In this way, schools may curtail their happiness by persuading them to change their chosen field. Therefore, the choices should be left to students. What the educational institutions need to do is to equip the students with the knowledge of their chosen field, and help boost their performance and chance of success.

One may argue that students may make wrong choices. Some people may later realize that they have chosen the wrong field and wish someone have told him. After spending a great deal of money, time, and effort, they still could not make a better living. Some may have to struggle to pay the student loans. I agree that not all students turn to be happy with their field of study. However, the educational institutions will not help solve the problems by dissuading them from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. First, there are some intrinsic reasons which will hamper students from succeeding in any field. These reasons could be laziness, dishonesties, and/or opinionated. In other words, the failure of some students has nothing with the choice of the field but their characteristics. Second, when the educational institutions dissuade students from one field of study, they will have to suggest them to an alternative field of study. The question is: are they sure that the students will succeed in the recommended field? Probably not. No one is certain about the future. Along with the rapid changes with the society and the students, the suggested field may fail the students. They listened to the “experts” at school and changed his field. Then, the chosen fields fail them, and they would have been succeeded if they had stuck to their own choices. Thus, the educational institutions will not help solve the problems by dissuading them from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

In conclusion, students have their reasons for their chosen field of study, which helps motivate them. In addition, as for the possible issues that one may argue, these issues do happen; yet, the educational institutions will not help solve them by dissuading them from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. Thus, I disagree with the claim.