Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutions have a great responsibility in shaping a student's career and motivating a student to achieve his goal as the guidance provided by the educational institutes help the students to identify the field of study in which they are interested and which they can pursue further. This does not give the right to the educational institutes to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Success is a subjective term and varies from person to person. Some may define success as defining the goals and achieving them while others may have a complete monetary point of view,i.e, they may consider the more the wealth, the more successful is a person. Some may consider reaching apex of knowledge in a field of study as being successful.

Also, The fields of study which can bring success to a student cannot be decided in advance. Sometimes, a student may do well in one field in school but performs brilliantly in other fields also. Take the example of the Romance King of Indian Cinema, Shahrukh Khan. Though he holds a post graduate degree in mass communication, success entered his life when he became an actor.

It is also evident from examples of various people who were mediocre in their studies at schools but later emerged as some of the greatest scientists this world has ever seen. Take the case of Albert Einstein. He was not interested in his studies in school. The teachers in his school considered him a hopeless student. But the same great personality later revealed the theory of relativity.

Consider the situation of country India. In India, many educational institutions do not motivate students from pursuing a career in sports or arts because of low chance of success in this field. Various great sports players and artists such as M.S Dhoni, Irfan Pathan, Anupam Kher and many more have to face demotivation to build careers in their field of interest.

It is an undeniable fact that educational institutions help the students identify their fields of interest in which can pursue their studies further. But these institutions should not restrain students from pursuing those areas which they consider might not bring success. One never know which field can bring success to one's life.