Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It’s always a tough decision to choose the perfect degree progrm or field of study for yourself, with so many options around, one may find himself lost in a jungle of choices. Usally educational institutions have a deep insight into which type of degree is suitable for what type of students and thus should guide students to an occupations more suitable for them.

An educational institution can play a very important role in deciding the pertinent field of study for a student as it is sure to have deep insight into the course content of various programs and the temperament required for them. For instance lets consider a student who is awestruck by the aura of a medical doctor by watching Grey’s anatomy, yet his interpersonal skills or his intrest in biology is wanting. Such a student may result into a drop out or a very bad doctor, if admitted into a medical college. Here, if the educational institute he did his high school from or the college he intends to study in may play a positive role in his career development by disuading him of his desires.

Furthermore this can enhance the oppurtunities for those who possess the relevant temprament for a certain field of study. And in the long run negating the trend of professional saturation in one field, which would have less unemployment as a consiquence. Moreover, by dissuading the people who are unfit for a certain profession, the institutions will decrease the number of unhappy or unsuccessful professional from the society, thus enhancing the efficeny of national workforce.

Having said that I will agree to the notion that a student should have the freedom to chose any field for himmself/herself, yet guidance from a more experienced body like an educational institution may prove to be of great help to make him reach the optimum decision. Thus I would say disuading should not be confused with restricting one from their desired field.

In a nutshell, I’ll mark guding students to the profession best fit for them, or atleast disuading them from those which might prove troublesome is an outmost resposibility of an educational institution as education is all about enlightment.