Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Should educational institutions actively encourage students to choose fields in which a plethora of jobs exists? There is no simple answer on this question owing to the fact that implementation of the policy may have positive and negative aftermaths as well. Although I can see the benefits of the policy, as far as I am concerned the drawbacks of its implementation outweigh them. Therefore I disagree with the issue.

To begin with, why do we go to study at University or College? Why do we spend comprehensible amount of money on acquiring a degree? Perhaps, because we want to acquire a profession which will allows us to earn more money than we spend. From this viewpoint, the proposed idea is right to the point because for alumnus to find no job is a disaster, in particular, if he or she has a student loan. The implementation of the policy will guarantee that a student who invests his or her money and time will return them with profit; moreover, society as a whole will win as well due to the fact that social needs will be satisfied in time; educational institutions will steer their students to choose the most needed specializations and fields and thus the shortage of employs will be negligible. So, may we assert that the policy ought to be implemented?

Unfortunately, the answer on this question is "no" because the fulfillment of the policy has some grave disadvantages and probably the worst one of them is that it pays no attention to students' inclinations or/and interests. Each student has her or his dreams and desires which may be broken by the policy in case they do not match with the current situation. For example, a person wants to be a psychologist, perhaps, one has talent and strong desire to pursue his or her dream. However, if there is not job in the field, the university may convince the student to change one's mind and become, for instance, a programmer. In other words, if we pay the high priority to availability of jobs, person's abilities and talents may be neglected. In this case, we will have an unhappy person who, perhaps, is an average programmer but might have been a great psychologist.

The second disadvantage is connected with the fact that it is literally impossible to precisely predict which jobs and professions will be in demand and which ones disappear. For example, in the 1980s few people might predict that a demand in software engineers will skyrocket soon; moreover, today such professions as economist or accouter are in great demand but, perhaps, those professions may become extinct if AI is created. In other words, we cannot be sure about future demand and thus we have a great risk to mislead people into wrong decision.

In conclusion, the idea to encourage students to choose fields in which jobs are plentiful seems to be attractive at the first glance, in particular, because it supposedly guarantees future employment; at the same time, the precise prediction of the demand is impossible and therefore the biggest advantage is weaken. Furthermore, the policy does not take into account people's abilities and interests and thus its realization is highly questionable.