Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement that examiners should assess students on the basis of their ability to explain ideas, trends and concepts that those facts illustrate is plausible for several reasons.

To begin with, only if a student has spent enough time understanding the concepts and facts he is able to illustrate their applications. When one spents time thinking over what he has learned, only then he can reach conclusions of his own, which is the real learning. Amount of time spent giving thaughts to texts incoporates innovation and creativity in knowledge, thus the knowledge gets realted to the real world. One gets time to think about flaws and enhancement that could have been incorporated in the concepts he had learned.

Moreover, applying idea expressed in statement will help teachers in seperating mere crammers from the learners. These crammers might be shrewd in scoring good grades in exams, but might fail to apply their intellect when needed. Learning with a goal for better grades is deleterious as it hinder one's capabilities of learning and grasping and it demotivates the learners as people tend to compare skill on basis of students performance in tests. Take for example, a student excellent in artistic skills will always get diffident in pursuing his dreams when he is evaluated less than a students who scored good in exams.

In addition, the practicality of any learning is defined by its applications in real world. Scholars that can apply their knowledge to the betterment of world are set to be more successful. The contribution of education to society is zero if students fail to apply what they have learned. For example, a medical student if ends up farming his lands what would be the use of his work and education.

In Contrast, not everyone is able to express their ideas creatively and mandates such as mentioned in statement might interfer with their careers. Therefore, such compulsions should only be applied in the fields where creative thinking is necessary. Take for example, IT Firms, Several IT employees work on trite technologies and their work is of not much contribution to the society but a client. While other who work in innvoative firms and fill the gaps which are not yet covered by the computers have bigger salaries and more job satisfaction. Therefore, these firms who work in innovative fields look for talents with creativity and profound understanding of knowledge, while for others any employee with an engineering degree is same.

Conclusively, being able to express ideas and grasp of concepts and utilization of facts helps one excel in his careeer as well as frequently gathers accolades from colleagues in work environment. And those who learn with a mundane attitude also get success but in less amount. Therefore, the ideas expressed in statement should be exhaustively disscussed before implementation and its impact should be thoroughly analysed.