Educators should take students' interests into account when planning the content of the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Should teachers take into consideration students' interests when they planning the content of the courses of their subjects? I assume that many of us will agree with this claim due to a plethora of expected positive consequences for students' academic performance. Although I can see those advantages, I disagree with the issue at least partly because of the reasons which will be described in more details below.

To begin with, the proposed idea seems to be highly attractive due to the fact that its implementation ought to help students to absorb knowledge and perhaps it may enhance their academic performance. The root of such support, in my opinion, is located in our own experience because many of us had or have teachers who read the same lifeless lectures from year to year. For instance, when I studied at University I had a serious problem with physiology, it is the important but difficult subject which were taught by old professor who read the same material by monotonous voice from year to year. However, when he retired, a new teacher who tried to make subject interesting was hired; since than I have no problem with physiology and my score skyrocketed as well as understanding of the subject. So, may we assert that this policy must be implemented?

The answer on this question is "no" because the proposed policy has some serious problems. Firstly, although it is such a cliché but students are different from each other and thus one group of students may have distinct and, perhaps, opposing interests from ones of other groups due to the fact that students belong to different social layers, gender and have distinct personal interests and probably pursue different specializations. Consequently, the policy might have worked well in case all students have similar interests and represent homogeneous mass, otherwise a teacher will inescapably face grave hardships in attempt to find content which will be interesting to all students.

Secondly, even if we assume that an educator miraculously manages to find the content which is interesting for all students, there is not guarantee that it will be useful for students’ future work. Perhaps implementation of the policy would force teachers to devote more time to secondary or insignificant themes in which students interested and to reduce time on major ones. The policy would have succeed had the students' interests overlapped with the important material which ought to be taught anyway. Unfortunately, the wording of the prompt assumes that teachers should alter their plans in order to take into account students' interests and therefore the likeliness that some important material will be omitted or reduced exists.

In conclusion, the proposed idea is indeed attractive one; it lures us by suggesting that difficult and boring subjects may be turned into interesting ones by fulfilling the policy. Unfortunately, the implementation of the policy has some serious problems which make policy realization problematic.