Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The education system is often at the center of interesting debates; some of them focus on the structure of schools themselves, but others are based on more abstract topics, such as which is the most correct way to educate students at every level. On this line of thought, some argue that educators (that is, teachers or advisors) should not present facts as they are; instead, they should first assure that their students have familiarity the appropriate context, in order for them to better understand the concept. This reasoning can indeed bring improvements to the learning system, though only to some extent.

In fact, the entire study-then-teach philosophy undoubtedly ensures that students grow as critical thinkers, as they are forced to contextualize the topic that is being analyzed before it is actually thought in class. This approach might be useful for advanced philosophy courses at the college level, where – for example – the concept of Platonic Love shall not be studied as is; it is indeed only after a thorough analysis of the various philosophers’ views that the student can come with its own idea on the subject and understand it. Therefore, at the beginning of a new topic, the educator might list a series of sources where the student can first have an overview, and only after that the professor may start its actual class.

Nonetheless, the previous example does not take into account the other, more numerous, situations in which this recommendation should not be applied. Especially at the junior high or high school level, during classes students are merely required to understand the topics they are taught and only after they may develop a critical opinion on the subject. The thing is, without the thorough guidance provided by the educator, these classes of students might not fully grasp the topic at hand and this may result in a worse performance later on.

Even after agreeing with these considerations, one could still argue that the academic way of teaching – that is, the one in which the educator teaches its lesson and then the students study it – is somewhat boring to most of today’s adolescents. Indeed, by stimulating their curiosity through pointing them to the right material to first explore the subject and only then teaching them about the main fact, educators could have a more solid grasp on the student’s often low attention spans and obtain a more efficient learning effect. An answer to this argument could be that while the claim is sound, the teacher should still maintain his guiding role by first telling the students about the topic in a thorough way, and only then pointing them to further material for deepening their knowledge.

In fact, the often boring lesson where the instructor just repeats its lesson and the students hear in a passive way should surely be enhanced, though the best way of doing it would be to ensure that the students understand about the main aspects of the topic; only after the lecture the teacher should guide them by citing the main sources to better understand the context and criticize its implications.