The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The given issue states that the best way to measure a political leader's effectiveness is to examine well-being of citizens who are ruled by a leader. There is no doubt that this sentence embraces the whole truth about this issue. The issue claims a wise thing to do - measure a leader's effectiveness only by well-being of citizens. Perhaps, it should be the only one way how to measure their effectiveness.

In order to support the statement, it will be wise to appeal to the history of ancient tribes, where a future social structure was an incipient phenomenon. According to many scientific data, it quite explicitly states that a tribal's leader had quite a clear obligation - to ensure existing of members of a tribe. For example, if a tribe had suffered from starvation because of a bad crop, a leader of this tribe could be easily killed or expelled from a tribe, because he did not ensure a tribe well-being. Certainly, such leader had a mythological function rather he worked on fields. However, in this historical example explicitly states a role model of leader who rules a society. Hence, the given issue, in this regard, seems reasoanble and historically justified.

Considering the history of the past 20 century, it could be easily found examples when some countries seemed powerful and mighty, however, its citizens were unhappy to live in such a country. Unfortunately, the twenty century had a lot of such examples. For instance, the world after the Second World War had been divided on two main camps: democrats and communists. Such challenging position propeled the Soviet Union to force its military and cosmic expansion, and they did it well. However, ordinary citizens still had a lot of problems with civil rights, equal opportunities, and even with a food provision. However, at the same time, the USSR seemed the country, which is so effective in military race. But, for the citizens of the USSR such race did provide them a simple well-being. Hence, in this regard, the proposed issue is wise to follow.

In contrary, it could be a situation when the given claim might be false. It is horrible periods of wars. During wars, the only way to measure a political effecitvenes of a leader is a win. Unfortunately, in such horrible cases, well-being of simple citizens is not considered at all.

To sum up, there is no doubt that given statement is true and reasonable to measure the political effectiveness of a leader, because, it is the only aim of any honest leader - well being of ordinary people. However, during wars, such logic could be reconsidered.