Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Laws were made to establish order in society. Some of these laws are just, while others are not. I agree with the claim that every individual has a responsibility to obey just laws. However I disagree with the second half of the claim. Instead of disobeying and resisting unjust laws, one should actively partake in changing those laws.

Firstly, people in society have a responsibility to obey just laws because it helps maintain peace and prevent avoidable circumstances. For example, speed limits are enforced to ensure safety of the people. If someone were to speed, it could potentially result in an accident, harming society.

By resisting and disobeying unjust laws, it does not change the fact that the law is unjust. In other words, disobeying unjust laws does not make a statement about how unjust the law really is. causes disturbances to the equilibrium of society. Take for example Rosa Parks. During her time, there were laws made to marginalize African-Americans. Specially on the bus, they were to sit in the back to allow for the whites to sit in the front. Rosa Parks decided to resist that unjust law and sit in the front, which ultimately led to her arrest. While going against the grain, she was able to make a statement about how unjust the law was; nevertheless, it did not change the law.

Instead, individuals should work towards changing those unjust laws by speaking out about it. After Rosa Parks arrest, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. was motivated by her motion of resistance and led a peaceful protest. It garnered attention from the central figures. After six days of protest, the Civil Rights Act was signed, granting African-Americans the freedom they justly deserved. The protest, inspired by someone who went against the law, brought about a permanent change resulting in a just law.

However, it is important to note what what is just and unjust is subjective. Therefore, it can create conflicts.

In summation, in society an individual has the responsibility to adhere to just laws and speak out against unjust laws, so that action can be taken to correct them.