Every individual in society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

One of the most commonly heard teachings while growing up is that rules are made for a reason, and that obeying the law is part of being a responsible and cooperative member of society, all to achieve the greater good. However, this is often based on the flawed assumptions that the governments who created these laws did so purely in the best interests of the people, without any selfish political intentions, misjudgments and greed behind them. Therefore, I do strongly agree with the sentiment presented in the statement, and also believe that the law should be followed at our own discretion.

Firstly it is commonly agreed that common criminal laws such as anti-homicide, anti-theft and robbery legislations are an integral part of maintaining an orderly and safe society for everyone, and should definitely be followed. The boundaries of these laws, however, becomes blurry when it comes to highly divisive issues such as religious freedom, gender equality, marijuana usage and sexual orientation. In this case, different governments would have very different opinions on what legislation would ensure the common good. In most Western, relatively liberal countries or states, such as Canada and the UK, all of the above stated issues are perfectly legal and actively encouraged. However, in highly conservative, non-secular countries such as Saudi Arabia, acts defying religious scriptures are viewed by governments as no different from violent crime, and should warrant similarly harsh punishments. People who commit to other religions and sexualities often receive disproportionately heavy sentences e.g. death penalties, stoning, life in prison etc, even though from a practical viewpoint, leaving them alone would not lead to any detrimental impact on society comparable to that of violent criminals. In fact it often incites more hatred, injustice and social immobility within the country. It is therefore imperative for people belonging to these marginalized communities, along with their sympathisers, to stand up against these laws stemming from antediluvian thought which are no longer relevant in modern times, in hopes of achieving positive change for future generations. A successful example would be the granting of rights to drive for women in Saudi Arabia after decades of peaceful protests and resistances. It can be seen that by resisting laws, the people have the power to keep governments in check and amend faulty, archaic and irrational laws and achieve the same goals that proper laws were supposed to accomplish.

Another point is the fact that the governments, along with lawmakers are often susceptible to negative influences, often from political lobbyists and corrupt businesses. Manufacturing and oil companies for example can bribe governments into implementing legislations that maximise their own profits while causing significant detrimental impact to the rest of society, such as the right to release toxic waste into rivers, which not only damages the environment, but also the livelihoods of several fishermen and farmers nearby. A conscientious, moral decision in this case is therefore to resist and actively rally against such laws. Besides external influences, problems could also arise from within the government itself, from either partisan conflicts or complete submission to a radical dictator. As shown by history, many who opposed and defied the cruel anti-semitic laws during the Nazi era in hopes of saving the lives of the innocent were all honoured as heroes, with the most notable example being Schindler. It is therefore during these times when one has to exercise their own judgement and stand on the right side of history even if it means going against the law and being seen as a traitor by your very own people.