Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The text claims that it is an individual's responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey or resist unjust laws. Laws are made after a lot of deliberation and thought and are made for the betterment of the society. I believe that it surely is an individual's responsibility to obey these laws. But, also to resist the laws that are misrepresentative of the society and could be unjust to sections of the society.

Laws of a country highlight the underlying social beliefs and attitudes towards certain sections of society. The laws can be taken as a representation of the society's beliefs. As the society rapidly changes, the laws soon become archaic and are a misrepresentation of the society, which leads to resistance towards these outdated and unjust laws.

There are various historical and current issues which highlight this point. In the United States, the laws did not permit female citizens to vote. This was representative of the archaic view that all important matters should be left to the males and females should be confined to household chores. As the society progressed, women became more educated and the resistance towards this law increased, as it was deemed unjust to women. In 1920, the landmark amendment to the constitution was made, which granted women the right to vote.

Currently, the fight for LGBT (Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender) rights has been gaining momentum all across the world. The present laws are restrictive towards this section of humanity, which is extremely unjust. It is illegal to be a homosexual in some parts of the world, which is saddening.

Another example is the increase of gun violence in the United States. People are resisting the law which permits firearms possession, due to increasing incidents pertaining to gun violence, such as mass shootings and accidental murders.

In India, there is a petition to decrease the legal drinking age, which is currently 25 years. It is a very grave misrepresentation of the society, as India is a young country with the average age of about 20 years. The resistance towards this law is constantly increasing and has garnered support from various celebrities as well.

These examples show that while it is an individual's responsibility to obey just laws, it is also his/her responsibility to resist unjust ones. Civil disobedience and resistance to certain laws have been ways to make way for positive changes in the society. Resistance has led to the laws being amended and being more inclusive. Laws should be malleable and be representative of the current society at large. And resistance is the way to shape them.